P90 X-er

“But one who looks intently at the perfect law, the law of liberty, and abides by it, not having become a forgetful hearer but an effectual doer, this man will be blessed in what he does”  (James 1:25, NASB)

“I’m a P90 X-er!” my three year-old son exclaimed.

Good thing he is only three and doesn’t understand how pathetic I actually look while trying to make it through the P90 X workout DVD’s I was recently given.

I believe it is important to be physically active in some way with my kids so they understand the value of exercise. I love it when they join me. We go for walks, hikes, and bike rides. We golf, play at the park, do the calisthenic stations around our neighborhood, do Yoga and now P90 X. I marvel at the development of their little bodies and how, over time, they are learning physical coordination and gaining strength.

My son doesn’t really join in the P90 X routine but he does watch.  Just like every single thing I do.  He does watch.

It really got me thinking, am I as on purpose about demonstrating my relationship with the Lord in front of my kids as I am exercise?  Could I type out a long list detailing the activities I do with my kids that will help them understand the value of our faith?

I believe that teaching my children is my most important job. Their moral character and core values are going to be set under our roof.  I better make sure that what they see in my faith is healthy, real and exciting.

Lord, I pray I call myself a Christian because of a true relationship I have with You and not just because I have watched someone else live it out in their life.

Leave a comment