It’s Good

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,” (Ephesians 3:20, NASB)

My five year-old daughter came down with the flu right before Spring Break. Poor baby she was so sick those first few days and just needed her Mama right by her the whole time.  Naturally, I was the next one to go down with it. When I found myself curled up in a ball, spooning my daughter in the little bit of sunlight that came through the front window, I raised the white flag and called my husband for help.

He hustled home and saved my life with the cold and flu medicine. He took care of all of us for the next couple of days. When my daughter and I were feeling a little better, we were snuggled on the couch eating Popsicles. She had eaten hers half way down and asked for my husband to push it up.  As he walked away she looked me in the eyes and said, “It’s good to have Dad in the house, isn’t it?”

I thought she was remarking about all he’d done to take care of us while we were sick but she continued, “He really is the only one strong enough to push up a Popsicle!”

She definitely recognized how he had met her need in the moment but totally missed the blessing he had been to us while we were so sick.

I believe many times in my prayer life, I have simply asked God to push up my Popsicle. As I study His word more and pray more I feel I am able to ask Him for my heart’s desires knowing that my heart’s desires are being molded by the Holy Spirit.

While I do want to feel gratitude for the little blessings I want more to see how He is working in people around me and rejoice in all He does.

God, thank you for Your power that is at work within me. Please give me the courage to ask and imagine to see all You can do.

One comment on “It’s Good

Leave a comment