Popcorn

My seven year-old is in the kitchen right now making microwave popcorn. She just asked me if she could make herself a snack then verified which buttons to push on the microwave.

When I gave her the go-ahead she was delighted. The only caution I gave her was to listen so we don’t end up with burnt popcorn smell in the house.

She headed straight for the kitchen and wasted no time getting the microwave going. Within 45 seconds I heard the microwave open then close and start again. Another 30 seconds goes by and the microwave opens, closes and starts again.

Finally I hear the microwave open and she yells to me, “nothing is happening with the popcorn!”

We’re on bag number two now, with confirmed instructions to “wait” until it is done popping.

Today, my friend and bible teaching buddy taught the three answers God gives our prayers:

1. Yes

2. No

3. Wait

I just saw my prayer life in my daughters popcorn making ability.

I pray and then look for a full bag of popcorn.

Nothing.

Pray again.

Look for the popcorn.

Pray for wisdom to see the answer and often times feel God answering, “wait…wait at least until the bag is finished popping!”

I find myself rushing most things in my life including my communication with God, hoping he wants to rush His answers and His will. Waiting for Him and His timing is not a strength I see many people display.

I do, like most people, have a desire to have a faith that believes God, believes in Him and his timing so that my prayers are constant and patient.

Lord, I pray your will be done in my life – whether it’s a full bag of popcorn or not. Help me to have the patience and contentment to wait on your will.

Rejoice always, pray continually, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, NIV”

One comment on “Popcorn

Leave a comment